Iowa DOT News Release

Road closures begin in southeast Iowa

Posted on: February 01, 2011

AMES, Iowa – Feb. 1, 2011- 7:30 p.m. – The Iowa Department of Transportation is now reporting several roads in southeast Iowa as closed. 

U.S. 34 - Des Moines, Jefferson and Henry counties (Burlington to Fairfield)
Iowa 1 - Washington County (Brighton to Kalona)  
Iowa 2 - Wayne and Appanoose counties (Corydon to Centerville)
Iowa 16 - Lee and Van Buren counties (Iowa 1 to U.S. 61 - Denmark to Hillsboro)
Iowa 22 - Washington and Muscatine counties (Nichols to Kalona)
Iowa 78 - Henry and Washington counties (U.S. 218 to Brighton)
Iowa 92 - Washington and Louisa counties (West Chester to Columbus Junction)
Iowa 136 - Clinton County (Clinton to U.S. 61)

Iowa DOT snowplows are being diverted from some two-lane roads in southeast Iowa to allow crews to focus on more heavily traveled areas. With the high winds, gusting from 45-50 in the southeast, blowing and drifting snow has become a major issue.

Because the high winds will persist into Wednesday, road conditions are not expected to improve until sometime Wednesday afternoon. A blizzard warning remains in effect for the southern two-third of the state. A blizzard warning means severe weather conditions are expected or occurring. Falling and blowing snow with strong winds and poor visibilities are likely. This had led to white out conditions making travel extremely dangerous. 

Information on road conditions and closures is available from a number of sources including, and on Twitter by following the Iowa DOT at


Media contacts: E-mail to arrange an interview or seek an electronic response to a question.

Iowa highway in the evening