Iowa DOT News Release

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to Meet March 21

Posted on: March 12, 2013

AMES, Iowa – March 12, 2013 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission will hold its quarterly meeting Thursday, March 21, at The Lodge Hotel and Conference Center, 900 Spruce Hills Drive in Bettendorf. 




10 a.m.

Roll call


*Approval of Feb. 7, 2013, quarterly meeting minutes

10:30 a.m.

Treasurer’s report

11 a.m.

Planning for the April 2013 national meeting to be held in Bettendorf

2 p.m.


            *Action item

Contact: Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1369 or 


The MRPC is a multistate organization which works collectively to preserve, promote and enhance the scenic, historic and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic and historic parkway known as the Great River Road. 

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex-officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office, and the Army Corps of Engineers.


Iowa highway in the evening