Iowa DOT News Release

Iowa Transportation Commission to meet April 8 and 9 in Coralville

Posted on: April 04, 2013

AMES, Iowa – April 4, 2013 – The Iowa Transportation Commission will hold its next business meeting Tuesday, April 9, at the Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, 300 E. Ninth St. Following the business meeting, the Commission will host a public input meeting at the same location. Four such meetings are held around the state each year.

On Monday, April 8, the Commission will meet informally during a workshop session and participate in a tour.  

Business meeting, Tuesday, April 9






8 a.m.

*Approve Minutes of the March 12, 2013, Commission Meeting

Connie Page,
Commission secretary,


Commission Comments



Staff Comments



8:05 a.m.

*Transportation Alternatives Program Funding Recommendation – Urban Youth Corps

Craig Markley, director,
Office of Systems Planning,


8:10 a.m.

*Revitalize Iowa’s Sound Economy (RISE) Application  – Woodbine (delegation)

Craig Markley, director,
Office of Systems Planning,


8:15 a.m.

*RISE Application – Warren County (delegation)

Craig Markley, director,
Office of Systems Planning,


8:20 a.m.

*RISE Application – Nevada (delegation)

Craig Markley, director,
Office of Systems Planning,


8:25 a.m.

*RISE Application – City of Dubuque (delegation)

Craig Markley, director,
Office of Systems Planning,


8:30 a.m.

Interstate Highway System: Overview and Needs

Paul Trombino III,
Iowa DOT director,


8:45 a.m.


*Action item

 Public input meeting, Tuesday, April 9




8:45 a.m.

Opening Remarks

Loree R. Miles,
Commission chair

8:45 a.m.

City of Coralville

Mayor Jim Fausett

8:55 a.m.

City of Iowa City

Mayor Pro Tem Susan Mims

9:10 a.m.

Metropolitan Planning Organization of Johnson County

John Yapp

9:15 a.m.

City of Cedar Rapids

Dave Elgin

9:25 a.m.

Washington Economic Development Group

Ed Raber

9:35 a.m.

City of Hiawatha

Mayor Tom Theis

9:45 a.m.

Historic Hills Scenic Byway

Katy Anderson

9:50 a.m.

U.S. 30 Coalition

Ranae Becker

10:05 a.m.

Meet and Greet


10:25 a.m.

East Central Intergovernmental Association

Dubuque Mayor Roy Buol

10:45 a.m.

City of Clinton

Mayor Mark Vulich

11:05 a.m.

Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments

Waterloo Mayor Buck Clark

11:25 a.m.

Highway 61 Coalition

Vern Meierotto

11:35 a.m.

City of Nevada

Elizabeth Hansen

11:45 a.m.

U.S. 75, Sioux Center

Brenda Fritsch

12 p.m.

Bi-State Regional Commission

Denise Bulat

12:15 p.m.

Unscheduled Delegations


Transportation tour – Monday, April 8
The Commission and Iowa Department of Transportation staff will tour transportation projects in eastern Iowa on Monday. The tour will begin at 9:20 a.m. at the Iowa DOT maintenance facility, 3001 E. Bremer Ave., in Waverly and end around 3 p.m. at the Coralville Public Library, 1401 Fifth St.   

Informal workshop session – Monday, April 8
The Commission will meet informally with Iowa DOT staff starting at 3:30 p.m. at the Coralville Public Library. The following transportation-related matters may be discussed, but no action will be taken during the workshop. The items are listed in no particular order and may be discussed at any point during the workshop.

  • RISE 
    • Woodbine - Immediate Opportunity
    • Warren County - Immediate Opportunity
    • Nevada - Local Development
    • City of Dubuque - Local Development
  • Transportation Alternatives Program – Urban Youth Corps funding
  • 2013 Highway Program balance report
  • Five-Year Iowa Transportation Improvement Program
  • Iowa Transportation Commission upcoming trip to Washington, D.C.


Editor’s note: There are two ways to listen to the Commission’s workshop and business meeting. The broadcast feed and phone line are active 15 minutes prior to each session and discontinued immediately after meeting adjournment.

  1. Live audio streaming will be available online at
  2. Call 866-685-1580 and enter access code 0009990545. 


Iowa highway in the evening