Iowa DOT News Release

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet June 12 in Maquoketa

Posted on: June 04, 2014

AMES, Iowa – June 4, 2014 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Thursday, June 12, at the Maquoketa Public Library, 126 S. Second St.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Roll call

Welcome and introduction of new commissioner Scott Tunnicliff

*Approval of April 2 and April 25 meeting minutes

10:15  a.m.

*Treasurer report and approval

General reports
     -Bylaws Committee

     -Culture and Heritage Committee 

     -Marketing Committee

     -Transportation Committee

     -Environment, Recreation and Agriculture Committee

Technical member reports

11 a.m.

Iowa Tourism update – Shawna Lode and Amy Zeigler

11:30 a.m.

Old business
     -MRPC organization
     -*Schedule FY 2015 Iowa MRPC meeting dates
        and locations
     -Tear sheet and Iowa Byways Travel Guide publications

New business
     -Great River Road signage project
     -*2015-2016 budget
     -*Election of officers for FY 2015


Adjourn for lunch

1 p.m.


Great River Road Corridor Management Plan

     -Work plan
     -Stakeholder meetings report

3 p.m.


*Action item

Contact: Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1369 or


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.

Iowa highway in the evening