Iowa DOT News

Iowa DOT wins two America’s Transportation Awards

AMES, Iowa – July 18, 2012 – The Iowa Department of Transportation has been awarded two regional America’s Transportation Awards at a ceremony held at the Mid America Association of State Highway Transportation Officials’ annual meeting in Lexington, Ky.  

1)    The Iowa DOT was recognized in the “Ahead of Schedule” category for the Interstate 680 reconstruction project in Council Bluffs. This highway section was completely rebuilt in only 34 working days following the 2011 Missouri River flooding.

 2)    The Iowa DOT also received an award in the “Best Use of Innovation” category for the U.S. 6 bridge over Keg Creek in Pottawattamie County. This bridge was completely prefabricated off-site and then assembled at the construction site using an accelerated bridge construction method. Utilizing this approach, the road was closed for only two weeks.

For more contest and project details, visit the America’s Transportation Awards website.

The competition for America’s Transportation Awards begins at the regional level. Winners in the other regions will be announced at their respective regional meetings held throughout the summer. The regional winners vie for the two top awards: the Grand Prize, selected by a panel of expert judges; and People’s Choice Award, selected by the public through online voting. Both winners receive a $10,000 prize, donated by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) to the state DOTs, which the winners then donate to a charity, nonprofit or scholarship fund of their choosing in the transportation field. The winners will be announced at the AASHTO annual meeting in Pittsburgh in November.

The America’s Transportation Awards were created 2008 to demonstrate that state transportation departments are delivering value for our transportation dollars. Now in its fifth year, the America’s Transportation Awards received a record number of states participating in this year’s competition. The competition is sponsored the AASHTO, AAA and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.


Contact: Dena Gray-Fisher at 515-239-1922 or [email protected]


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.