Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet July 7 in Le Claire

AMES, Iowa – June 30, 2015 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Tuesday, July 7, at the Le Claire Community Library, 323 Wisconsin St., in Le Claire.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Roll call
*Approval of April 23, 2015, meeting minutes

10:10 a.m.

 *Treasurer report and approval
Other business
   -Budget review
   -Semiannual MRPC meeting April 22-24, St. Paul, Minn. 

10:30 a.m.

   -Annual meeting committees
      -Culture and Heritage
      -Environment, Recreation and Agriculture
      -Communications and Marketing
   -Departing commissioner comments
   -New commissioner appointments
   -Other reports

 11 a.m.

Corridor Management Plan (CMP)
  -Rollout Meeting Report 
  -CMP document distribution
  -*Document approval


Adjourn for lunch

 12:45 p.m.    

2016 business
  -*Election of officers
  -Meeting schedule

 1:15 p.m.

Corridor Management Plan Implementation Workshop

 4:30 p.m.


*Action item

Contact: Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1369 or [email protected]


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.