Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet Aug. 10 in Maquoketa

AMES, Iowa – July 27, 2015 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Monday, Aug. 10, at the Hurstville Interpretive Center, 18670 63rd St., in Maquoketa.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

9:30 a.m.

Roll call

Welcome – new member


*Approval of July 7, 2015, meeting minutes

Iowa Byways Coalition

*Iowa Byways Foundation

10:10 a.m.

*Treasurer’s report and approval

Other reports

   - National Geographic meetings

   - Annual MRPC meeting Oct. 6-8, 2015, New Orleans, La.

   - Semiannual MRPC meeting April 27-29, 2016, La Crosse, Wis.

   - Annual MRPC meeting Sept. 14-16, 2016, Natchez, Miss.

10:20 a.m.

Committee reports

   - Culture and Heritage

   - Marketing – Drive Great River Road September 2015

   - Transportation

   - Agriculture

   - National board meeting

   -*Budget report for 2015

   -*Budget report for 2016

11:40 a.m.

MRPC meeting schedule

11:45 a.m.

Adjourn for lunch

 1:00 p.m.

Marketing workshop with Shawna Lode, Iowa Tourism Office

Brand Mississippi River and Great River Road as one

 3:00 p.m.

*Marketing purchases

 3:15 p.m.


*Action item

Contact: Debra Arp, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1681 or


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.