Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet Oct. 8

AMES, Iowa – Sept. 23, 2015 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will join the 10-state Mississippi River Parkway Commission at its annual meeting Tuesday through Thursday, Oct. 6-8. The annual meeting will be held at Maison Dupuy Hotel, 1001 Toulouse St., in New Orleans, La.

The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission will conduct a brief business meeting at 7 a.m. Thursday, Oct. 8, at the meeting site in New Orleans.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

7 a.m.

Roll call
Welcome and introductions
*Approval of Aug. 10, 2015, meeting minutes

7:05 a.m.

*Treasurer report and approval
General reports
  -Budget proposal
  -MRPC (multistate)
  -Bylaws Committee
  -Culture and Heritage Committee 
  -Marketing Committee
  -Transportation Committee
  -Environment, Recreation, and Agriculture Committee

7:15 a.m.

Committee reports
  -Marketing ad preparation
  -Great River Road social media
  -Byway sustainability

7:25 a.m.

Old business
  -CMP implementation – Commissioner updates on outreach to 
    local stakeholders
  -Committee assignments

7:35 a.m.

New business
  -FY 2015 annual report
  -Great River Road route review
  -Other business

7:45 a.m.


*Action item

Contact: Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1369 or [email protected]


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.