Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet March 21 in Burlington

AMES, Iowa – March 15, 2016 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Monday, March 21 at The Drake, 106 Washington St., in Burlington.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Welcome to the Great River Road Hospitality Workshop

Introductions, including invited guests from Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties

10:10 a.m.

The Great River Road: What is it?

10:50 a.m.

Economic impact of the Great River Road

10:55 a.m.

Iowa Great River Road signing project: New signs

11 a.m.

Corridor Management Plan implementation

11:25 a.m.

Partnering on promotion of the Great River Road

   -How can we partner?

   -How can you help us promote?

   -How can we help you promote?

11:45 a.m.

Adjourn workshop



12:30 p.m.

Roll call

Welcome from Burlington Mayor Shane McCampbell


*Approval of Feb. 8, 2016, meeting minutes

*Treasurer report and approval

   -Fundraising discussion

12:55 p.m.

Other reports

   -Great River Road events

   -Iowa Byways sustainability

   -Byways of Iowa Coalition

   -Byways of Iowa Foundation

   -Iowa Great River Road signing project

1:15 p.m.

President’s report

National Committee and Strategic Plan priorities reports

   -Culture and Heritage

   -Marketing: Year of birding; and Drive the Great River Road

         Month September and October 2016



   -Semiannual MRPC meeting April 27-29, 2016, La Crosse, Wis.

   -Annual MRPC meeting Sept. 14-16, 2016, Natchez, Miss.

1:30 p.m.

   -Iowa Corridor Management Plan implementation

   -July 2015 priorities progress report by county

1:45 p.m.

Committee breakouts to set action plans

2:15 p.m.

Discuss action plan report for Iowa

3 p.m.


*Action item

Contact: Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1369 or [email protected]


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.