Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet April 29

AMES, Iowa – April 22, 2016 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will join the 10-state Mississippi River Parkway Commission at its semi-annual meeting Wednesday through Friday, April 27-29. The semi-annual meeting will be held at Radisson Hotel La Crosse, 200 Harborview Plaza, in La Crosse, Wis.

The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission will conduct a brief business meeting at 6:45 a.m. Friday, April 29, at the meeting site in La Crosse. 


Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

6:45 a.m.

Roll call

Welcome and introductions

*Approval of March 21, 2016, meeting minutes

6:55 a.m.

*Treasurer report and approval

General reports

-Culture and Heritage Committee 

-Marketing Committee

-Transportation Committee

-Environment, Recreation, and Agriculture Committee

7:15 a.m.

President’s report

-National Committee

-Strategic Plan priorities committee reports

7:25 a.m.

Old business

-CMP implementation

-Great River Road Signing Project update

7:35 a.m.

New business

-FY 2016 annual report items

-June meeting date

-Other business

7:45 a.m.


*Action item 

Contact: Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1369 or [email protected]


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.