Iowa DOT News Release

Iowa Bus Roadeo

Posted on: June 27, 2016

IOWA CITY, Iowa – June 27, 2016 – Two Iowa transit vehicle operators are headed for national and international level competition by earning top honors in Iowa's 30th Annual Public Transit Roadeo held in Iowa City June 25.

  • Jean Dalsing, representing Region 8 Regional Transit Authority (RTA) in Dubuque, placed first in the small bus competition.
  • Kevin Gries, representing CyRide in Ames, placed first in the large bus competition.

Dalsing will represent the state of Iowa at the Community Transportation Association of America Bus Roadeo in June 2017 in Detroit, Mich. Gries will represent the state of Iowa at the American Public Transit Association’s 42nd International Bus Roadeo in May 2017 in Reno, Nev. This year, Coralville Transit, Iowa City Transit, and The University of Iowa’s Cambus organized and co-hosted the roadeo at The University of Iowa’s Hawkeye commuter parking lot in Iowa City. The annual public transit roadeo is co-sponsored by the Iowa Department of Transportation and Iowa Public Transit Association, with funding from a Federal Transit Administration program.

The roadeo's purpose is to promote the development and provide recognition of safe driving skills by Iowa's public transit vehicle operators. Thirty-one competitors from transit systems across Iowa demonstrated their skills by performing a series of maneuvers that simulate the actual situations they encounter in the performance of their daily duties. The maneuvers include pulling up to a curb at a bus stop closely flanked by parked cars, making left and right turns in narrow lanes that might be created by parked cars along a route, stopping short of an obstacle, and backing into parking stalls. Judges for the event included volunteer citizens, staff from Iowa’s public transit systems, and Iowa DOT representatives.

Roadeo rankings include:

Small bus division
    First place: Jean Dalsing, Region 8 RTA, Dubuque
    Second Place: Nathan Shimanek, CyRide, Ames
    Third place: Andrew Rethmeier, Region 11 HIRTA, Urbandale

Large bus division
    First place: Kevin Gries, CyRide, Ames
    Second Place: Paul Klimesh, CyRide, Ames
    Third place: Cesar Chavez, DART, Des Moines

There are 35 transit agencies in Iowa providing service to every county and community in the state. For more information on public transportation in Iowa visit:


Contact: Ryan Ward, Iowa DOT transit programs administrator at 515-233-7877 or

Iowa highway in the evening