Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet July 18 in Davenport

AMES, Iowa – July 12, 2016 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Monday, July 18, at Nahant Marsh Education Center, 4220 Wapello Ave., in Davenport.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

9:30 a.m.

Roll call
Welcome and introductions
Overview of Nahant Marsh Education Center – Brian Ritter
*Approval of June 20, 2016, meeting minutes

10 a.m.

*Treasurer report and approval
*Budget review for 2016
*Budget planning for 2017
*MRPC meeting schedule
*Election of 2017 officers

10:30 a.m.

National MRPC Committee reports
   - Culture and Heritage – interpretive center visits
   - Marketing
   - Transportation – signage project update, road updates
   - Agriculture
   - National board meeting

11 a.m.

Chairwoman’s Report
   - Iowa Byways Sustainability Project
   - Byways of Iowa Coalition
   - Iowa State Fair booth

11:30 a.m.

Interpretive centers’ staff updates


Adjourn for lunch

1 p.m.

Welcome and introductions
Ex officio member reports
   - Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation
   - Ron Deiss, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

1:30 p.m.

Discuss potential MRPC and regional planning partnering to implement and accomplish goals in the 2015 Iowa Great River Road Corridor Management Plan

2:15 p.m.

Discussion of goals for 2017

2:45 p.m.

2017 National MRPC Annual Meeting – fall 2017 (Iowa host)

3 p.m.


*Action item

Contact: Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1369 or [email protected]


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.