Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet Nov. 21 in Dubuque

AMES, Iowa – Nov. 14, 2016 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Monday, Nov. 21, at the McCarthy Center, Second Floor, Roshek Building, 700 Locust St., in Dubuque.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

9:30 a.m.

Roll call
Commissioners report
Distribution of the 2016 Annual Report
Welcome and introductions
*Approval of Oct. 12, 2016, meeting minutes

9:45 a.m.

*Treasurer report and approval
*Budget planning for 2017
Interpretative Center staff updates
*MRPC meeting schedule
   -Dec. 19, 2016; Jan. 23, 2017; or Feb. 20, 2017

10:05 a.m.

National MRPC Committee reports
   -Culture and Heritage: Interpretive center visits
   -Transportation: Signage project and road updates
   -2018 Bike Ride on Great River Road

10:20 a.m.

Chairwoman’s report
Meeting with Governor Branstad
Iowa Byways Sustainability Project
Byways of Iowa Coalition
*Letter of support for Davenport bridge

10:30 a.m.

Ex officio member reports
  -Mary Stahlhut: Iowa Department of Transportation’s signage
                           project update
  -Ron Deiss: Corps of Engineers

10:35 a.m.


10:45 a.m.

2017 National MRPC Fall Annual Meeting planning

11:50 a.m.

Adjourn for lunch

1 p.m.

Informal meeting with stakeholder legislators
Welcome and introductions
MRPC founding history, share tourism data, economic impact

1:30 p.m.

2015 Iowa Great River Road Corridor Management Plan discussion
  -Goals and implementation
  -Resources, challenges, and partnering

2:30 p.m.

Discussion of Iowa MRPC 2017 goals

2:45 p.m.


*Action item

Contact: Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1369 or [email protected]


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.