Iowa DOT News

Update: Southbound I-35 off-ramp to westbound U.S. 30 near Ames closes May 8 #iatraffic

JEFFERSON, Iowa – May 3, 2017 – Work progresses on the Interstate 35/U.S. 30 interchange project near Ames and now requires closing the southbound I-35 off-ramp to westbound U.S. 30 (exit 111) and the westbound U.S. 30 off-ramp to Dayton Avenue (exit 148) at 8 a.m. Monday, May 8, for up to three months, weather permitting, according to the Iowa Department of Transportation’s Jefferson construction office.

Detour routes

  • Motorists wanting to travel west on U.S. 30 from southbound I-35 will need to exit at the 13th Street off-ramp (exit 113) and turn right onto 13th Street and travel west, and then turn left onto South Dayton Avenue and travel south to the westbound U.S. 30 on-ramp.
  • Motorists wanting to reach South Dayton Avenue from westbound U.S. 30 will exit at the South Duff Avenue off-ramp (exit 148) and turn right, then travel north on South Duff Avenue to Southeast 16th Street, and then turn right and travel east on Southeast 16th Street to South Dayton Avenue.

The Iowa DOT reminds motorists to drive with caution, obey the posted speed limit and other signs in the work area, and be aware that traffic fines for moving violations are at least double in work zones. As in all work zones, drivers should stay alert, allow ample space between vehicles, and wear seat belts.

The latest traveler information is available anytime through our 511 system. Visit; call 511 (within Iowa) or 800-288-1047 (nationwide); stay connected with 511 on Facebook or Twitter (find links at; or download the free app to your mobile device.

To receive email or text alerts about traffic incidents, road closures, traffic delays, and other restrictions that affect this highway route or other routes you travel, the Iowa DOT offers the “My Routes” option on It’s easy to subscribe to My Reports and sign up to receive the email/text alerts. Visit for simple, step-by-step instructions.


Contact: Jenny Hoskins at 515-386-8166 or [email protected]


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.