Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet Sept. 21 in Marquette

AMES, Iowa – Sept. 8, 2017 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will join the 10-state Mississippi River Parkway Commission at its annual meeting Tuesday through Thursday, Sept. 19-21. The annual meeting will be held in the Marquette Community Room, 102 North St., in Marquette, Iowa.

The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission will conduct a brief business meeting at 7 a.m. Thursday, Sept. 21, at the meeting site in Marquette.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

7 a.m.

Roll call
Welcome and introductions
*Approval of July 17, 2017, meeting minutes

7:05 a.m.

*Treasurer report and approval

7:10 a.m.

General reports
-Annual National MRPC Board meeting
   -Chairwoman’s report
MRPC Committee reports
   -Culture and Heritage
   -Environment, Recreation, and Agriculture
   -Communications and Marketing

7:30 a.m.

Other reports
   -Byways of Iowa Coalition
   -Iowa State Fair
   -Byways of Iowa Foundation
*MRPC meeting schedule –  Oct. 16, Nov. 20

7:45 a.m.

Discussion of the September 2017 Annual Meeting business

8 a.m.


*Action item

Note: The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Inc., a 501 (c) (4) tax-exempt fundraising organization, will meet at this location immediately following the meeting of the Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission.

For more information, contact Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, by phone at 515-239-1369 or email [email protected].


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.