Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet Oct. 19 in Princeton

AMES, Iowa –  Oct. 6, 2017 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Thursday, Oct. 19, 2017, at the Princeton Community Center in the Boll’s building, 428 S. River Drive, in Princeton.

                                                Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Roll call
Welcome and introductions
*Approval of Sept. 21, 2017, meeting minutes

10:15 a.m.

*Treasurer report and approval
*Budget planning for 2018
Interpretative center staff update
*MRPC meeting schedule –  Nov. 16, 2017

10:35 a.m.

*Election of officers

10:45 a.m.

National MRPC Committee reports
-Culture and Heritage
-Marketing – media buy
-New banner report – Ann Geiger
-Transportation – road updates

11:25 a.m.

Iowa legislative outreach meeting plans


Adjourn for lunch

1 p.m.

Chairwoman’s report
-Byways of Iowa Coalition
-Byways of Iowa Foundation

1:15 p.m.

Ex officio member reports
-Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation
-Ron Deiss, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
-Shawna Lode, Iowa Tourism Office
-Mike Moran, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs
-Randy Schultz, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

1:30 p.m.

2015 Iowa Great River Road Corridor Management Plan
-FY 2018 goals, priorities, resources, challenges, and partnering

3 p.m.


*Action item

Note: The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Inc., a 501 (c) (4) tax-exempt fundraising organization, will meet at this location at 9:30 a.m., immediately preceding the meeting of the Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission.

For more information, contact Mary Stahlhut, Iowa Department of Transportation, by phone at 515-239-1369 or email


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Natural Resource Commission, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.