Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet June 4 in Princeton, Iowa

AMES, Iowa – May 30, 2018 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Monday, June 4, 2018, at the Princeton Community Center in the Boll’s Building, 428 S. River Drive in Princeton.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Welcome and introductions

*Approval of Feb. 5, 2018, meeting minutes

10:15 a.m.

*Treasurer report and approval

*Final Budget planning for 2018

-Interpretative center staff update

*Future meeting schedule

-Third Monday July, October, January, April.

-National MRPC annual meeting Oct. 23-25 in West Memphis, Ark.

10:30 a.m.

Review and discussion of MRPC duties – Craig Markley and Jane Regan

11:00 a.m.

National and State MRPC Committee reports

-Culture and Heritage

-Marketing: Iowa Byways Travel Guide update and approval of:

*New banner design, materials, and printing.

*Passport design, materials, and printing.


-Environment, Recreation, and Agriculture

11:20 a.m.

Chairman’s report

-Submit county lists for 2018 National MRPC Year of Art, Culture, and
  Music on the Great River Road

-April National MRPC board meeting report

11:30 a.m.

Ex officio member and other reports

-Mary Stahlhut, Iowa DOT

-Ron Deiss, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

-Shawna Lode, Iowa Tourism Office

-Lisel Vogt, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs

-Todd Coffelt, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

11:45 a.m.

Adjourn for lunch

1 p.m.

Corridor Management Plan implementation

2 p.m.

Wrap Up Items

2:30 p.m.


*Action item

Note: The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Inc., a 501 (c) (4) tax-exempt fundraising organization, will meet at this location immediately following the meeting of the Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission.

For more information, contact Mary Stahlhut, Iowa DOT, by phone at 515-239-1369 or email [email protected].


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.