Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet Oct. 15 in Muscatine

AMES, Iowa – Oct. 10, 2018 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Monday, Oct.15, 2018, at the Muscatine History and Industry Center, 117 W. 2nd St., in Muscatine.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Roll call

Welcome and introductions

Approval of previous meeting minutes

10:15 a.m.

Treasurer report and approval

Fiscal year budget status report

Future meeting schedule

10:30 a.m.

Iowa MRPC duties and procedures

-Craig Markley, Iowa DOT Office of Systems Planning

11:15 a.m.

Interpretive centers passport program

-Marketing Committee


Adjourn for lunch

1:15 p.m.

Chair report

1:30 p.m.

Election of officers

2 p.m.

National and State MRPC Committee reports

-Culture and Heritage



-Environment, Recreation, and Agriculture

2:15 p.m.

Ex officio member and other reports

-Mary Stahlhut, Iowa DOT

-Ron Deiss, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

-Jacque Matsen, Iowa Tourism Office

-Liesl Vogt, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs

-Margo Underwood, Iowa Natural Resource Commission

2:30 p.m.

Corridor Management Plan implementation

Open discussion

3:00 p.m.


Note: The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Inc., a 501 (c) (4) tax-exempt fundraising organization, will meet at this location immediately following the meeting of the Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission.

For more information, contact Mary Stahlhut, Iowa DOT, by phone at 515-239-1369 or email [email protected].


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.