Iowa DOT News

Iowa DOT accepting applications through Jan. 18 for Volkswagen Settlement Environmental Mitigation Trust program

AMES, Iowa – Nov. 20, 2018 – The Iowa Department of Transportation is now accepting grant applications for the Volkswagen Settlement Environmental Mitigation Trust program.

In 2016, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) filed a complaint alleging Volkswagen violated the Clean Air Act with the sale of motor vehicles between 2009 and 2016 equipped with “defeat devices” designed to perform differently during normal vehicle operation than during emissions tests. This meant that vehicles exceeded the EPA compliant levels of nitrogen oxides during normal use. Volkswagen agreed to settle some of the allegations with the creation of an Environmental Mitigation Trust (Trust) to fund strategies that will reduce nitrogen oxides emissions. Iowa will receive approximately $21 million in Trust funds for nitrogen oxides mitigation projects which will be distributed through competitive application programs over the next several years.

The first funding cycle will distribute $4.9 million across the three eligible project categories listed below.

Mitigation Category

Funding Available

Category 1 - Class 4-8 School Bus, Shuttle Bus, or Transit Bus


Category 2 - Freight Trucks and Port Drayage Trucks


Category 3 - Non-Road Transport and Equipment




Private organizations, public transit system operators, cities, counties, and schools that own and operate diesel fleets and equipment in Iowa are eligible to sponsor projects. State agencies are not eligible for this program with the exception of those that may serve as public transit system operators for projects eligible under Category 1.

To learn more about this funding opportunity and how to apply, visit the program website at  Questions must be submitted in writing via email to [email protected] and responses will be posted on the website for all applicants to review. Completed applications must be received by 5 p.m. CST, Jan. 18, 2019.


Contact: [email protected]


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.