Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet April 22 in Bellevue

AMES, Iowa – April 15, 2019 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Monday, April 22, 2019, at Bellevue City Hall, 106 North 3rd St., in Bellevue.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10:00 a.m.

Roll call

Welcome and introductions

10:15 a.m.

Approval of previous meeting minutes

Treasurer report and approval

10:30 a.m.


-Review current expenditures

-Discuss and plan for current year

11:00 a.m.

National and State MRPC Committee reports

-Culture and Heritage and interpretive center reports



-Environment, Recreation, and Agriculture

12:15 p.m.

Adjourn for lunch

1 p.m.

Following lunch, the Commission will tour Young Museum, 410 N. Riverview St.  No official business will be discussed and no actions will be taken.

1:45 p.m.

Resume meeting at Bellevue City Hall

Chair report

-National board meeting reports

2:15 p.m.

Ex officio member and other reports

2:30 p.m.

Open Discussion

3:30 p.m.

Future meeting schedule



Note: The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Inc., a 501 (c) (4) tax-exempt fundraising organization, will meet at this location immediately following the meeting of the Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission.

For more information, contact Mary Stahlhut, Iowa DOT, by phone at 515-239-1369 or email [email protected].


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.