Iowa DOT News

Draft FY 2020-2024 Iowa Transportation Improvement Program presented to the Iowa Transportation Commission

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – May 14, 2019 – The Iowa Department of Transportation presented the Iowa Transportation Commission (Commission) with the draft Fiscal Year 2020-2024 Iowa Transportation Improvement Program (Program) at its meeting today. The Program documents investments in Iowa’s multimodal transportation system covering aviation, public transit, railroads, trails, and highways. The Commission and the Iowa DOT remain committed to providing modern, safe, and efficient transportation services to the public.

The draft Program is posted and available for public comment on the Iowa DOT's website The Commission is currently scheduled to consider approval of the Program at its meeting in Ames to be held June 11.

Program overview
This Program continues to reflect the additional projects that are possible because of the fuel tax increase implemented in 2015. As directed by the legislation, 100 percent of the additional revenue allocated to the Iowa DOT will be spent on road and bridge projects that are critical to maintain Iowa’s transportation infrastructure and create opportunities for expanded economic activity. A list of projects able to be funded due to the funding increase is included in the highway section of the Program.

A major component of the Program is the highway program that documents programmed investments in the Primary Highway System for the next five years. For FY 2020-2024, approximately $3.5 billion is forecast to be available for highway right of way and construction. The Commission continues to maintain a balance between rural and urban investment with approximately 55 percent of the $3.5 billion Program being invested in rural areas.

The highway section was developed to achieve several objectives. The Commission’s primary investment objective remains stewardship, including safety, maintenance, and modernization of Iowa’s existing highway system. More than $2.0 billion is programmed from FY 2020 through FY 2024 for modernization of Iowa’s existing highway system and for enhanced highway safety features.

The Program includes more than $1 billion of investments in Iowa’s state-owned bridges. Over the last few years, the number of structurally deficient bridges on the state highway system has been reduced from 256 in 2006 to 43 in 2018 as a result of the Commission’s emphasis to improve the condition of Iowa’s bridges.

The Commission and Iowa DOT continue to recognize the critical importance of an effective and efficient interstate highway system. The interstate highways connect all transportation systems in Iowa and facilitate major freight movements that deliver Iowa products to world marketplaces. The highway section includes significant interstate investments on I-29 in Sioux City for reconstruction, six-lane improvements on I-35 in Polk and Story Counties, the I-74 Mississippi River Bridge replacement in Bettendorf, the I-80/380 Interchange reconstruction near Iowa City, six-lane improvements on I-80 in Johnson and Cedar Counties, I-380 in Hiawatha for the Tower Terrace Interchange, and the I-80/I-29 system in Council Bluffs.

Along with these important interstate projects, we continue to make improvements to important non-interstate corridors, including U.S. 30 in Tama and Benton Counties, U.S. 52 in Dubuque County, U.S 61 in Des Moines County, and U.S. 63 in Wapello County. Portions of these investments address stewardship needs.

Additional capacity and system enhancement projects
Another highway programming objective is developing and constructing capacity and system enhancement projects. The Commission was able to add construction for four-lane improvements to U.S. 61 in Louisa County from 0.5 miles north of Iowa 78 to 2.0 miles south of Iowa 92. The Commission was able to add several significant multi-year projects that address safety and operational needs and these include the U.S. 30 Missouri Valley Bypass in Harrison County, U.S. 63 Oskaloosa Bypass in Mahaska County, and U.S. 218 in Bremer County from Janesville to Waverly.  The Iowa 9 Mississippi River bridge replacement project was also added.

The Commission was also able to add several significant small and medium-sized projects that address safety and condition needs. These projects include the following.

  • Iowa 1 in Johnson County in Iowa City
  • Iowa 13 in Delaware County from north of Manchester to Iowa 3
  • U.S. 20 in Woodbury County in Sioux City
  • U.S. 20 in Black Hawk County from Hudson Road to U.S. 63
  • U.S. 34 in Montgomery County from west of Iowa 48 to County Road H-34
  • Iowa 38 in Cedar County in Tipton
  • U.S. 63 in Poweshiek County from U.S. 6 to Tama
  • Iowa 64 in Jackson County in Maquoketa
  • U.S. 65 in Cerro Gordo County in Mason City
  • U.S. 75 in Plymouth County from Woodbury County to Hinton
  • U.S. 75 in Sioux County in Sioux Center


Continuation of previously programmed projects
The Commission remains committed to previous highway programming actions by maintaining the schedules of large multiyear corridor improvement projects. These multiyear corridor improvement projects include the following.

  • Iowa 1 in Jefferson County in Fairfield
  • Iowa 3 in Dubuque County from Luxemburg to Sageville
  • Iowa 13 in Linn County from north of County Home Road to south of Central City
  • Iowa 17 in Boone County north of U.S. 30
  • U.S. 18 in Floyd County at the U.S. 218 intersection in Floyd
  • U.S. 20 in Webster County from east of County Road P-73 to Iowa 17
  • U.S. 20 in Black Hawk County from U.S. 63 to Iowa 21 in Waterloo
  • U.S. 20 in Dubuque County at Swiss Valley Road
  • Iowa 21 in Keokuk County from Iowa 149 to Delta
  • U.S. 30 in Story County from east of I-35 to Nevada
  • U.S. 52 in Jackson County from the Mississippi River to north of Sabula
  • U.S. 63 in Wapello County from County Road J-12 to U.S. 34 in Ottumwa
  • U.S. 69 in Polk County from I-80 to Southeast 33rd Street in Ankeny
  • U.S. 69 in Wright County from north of the railroad to County Road C-20
  • U.S. 75 in Plymouth County from Hinton to Merrill
  • Iowa 92 in Keokuk County at the Iowa 21 and the County Road V-33 intersections
  • Iowa 92 in Washington and Louisa counties from east of U.S. 218 to Iowa 70 in Columbus Junction
  • Iowa 141 in Monona County from east of County Road L-32 to west of County Road L-37
  • U.S. 218 in Black Hawk County from Broadway Street to the Airport interchange in Waterloo.

Federal funding
A large part of funding available for highway programming comes from the federal government. Accurately estimating future federal funding levels requires a multiyear federal transportation authorization bill. The current authorization bill, Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act, was signed into law Dec. 4, 2015. However, it will expire Sept. 30, 2020, which is before the second year of the FY 2020-2024 Iowa Transportation Improvement Program. Therefore, there is some uncertainty about federal funding after this date.


Contact: Stuart Anderson, director of the Iowa DOT’s Planning, Programming and Modal Division, 515-239-1661 or [email protected]



©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.