Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet by conference call February 15

AMES, Iowa – Feb. 8, 2021 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission will convene a conference call Monday, February 15, 2021, at 10 a.m. to allow commissioners and the public to participate and avoid concerns related to the coronavirus, or COVID-19.

Interested parties may join the call by dialing (800) 509-6344 and passcode 5778996. The phone line will be active shortly before the meeting and discontinued immediately after the meeting ends.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

MRPC Call to order and roll call

Telephonic meeting statement, welcome, and introductions

10:10 a.m.

Approval of July 27, 2020 Minutes

Review and approval of Treasurer’s report

10:15 a.m.

Comments from Interpretive Centers

Ex-Official Member and other reports

10:45 a.m.

Review current expenditures

Reports on plans for the current year

12:00 p.m.


12:30 p.m.

Upcoming Budget discussion

2:00 p.m.

Chairman’s Report

National and Committee Reports

Marketing Committee



Recreation and Agriculture

Heritage and Culture

2:30 p.m.

Update on Activities

Update on Cascade Bridge in Burlington                  

Update on Young Museum, Bellevue

 General Discussion - Increasing public awareness

1.     Cross posting and tagging on Facebook

2.     Travel Iowa’s Scenic Byways Passport Program

3.     Iowa Byways news monthly letter

 Future meeting schedule

 Adjourn for Foundation meeting

Note: The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Inc., a 501(c)(4) tax-exempt fundraising organization, will participate in a conference call immediately following the meeting of the Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission.

For more information, contact Craig Markley, Iowa DOT, by phone at 515-239-1027 or email [email protected].

The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the national MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.