Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet virtually Dec. 6

AMES, Iowa –Nov. 29, 2021 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet virtually Monday, Dec. 6, 2021.

Interested parties may attend the meeting by conference call by dialing 515-817-6093 (long-distance charges may apply) and passcode 158 050 057#.  The phone line will be active shortly before the meeting and discontinued immediately after the meeting ends.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Roll call

Welcome and introductions

10:05 a.m.

*Approval of winter radio ads

10:30 a.m.

Presentation by Anne Lewis, National Mississippi River Parkway Commission, Pilot

11:00 a.m.


*Action item

Contact: Emily Whaley, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1629 or [email protected].

Iowa DOT ensures nondiscrimination and equal employment in all programs and activities in accordance with Title VI and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and other nondiscrimination statutes. If you need more information or special assistance for persons with disabilities or limited English proficiency, contact Tonnette R. Harris, J.D., Civil Rights Bureau Director at 515-509-8814 or by email at [email protected].

 The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.