Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet virtually Jan. 10

AMES, Iowa –Dec. 28, 2021 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Monday, Jan. 10, 2022, virtually.      

Interested parties may attend the meeting by using the Zoom link: and Meeting ID:  86562712897 and passcode:  793745.  The link will be active shortly before the meeting and discontinued immediately after the meeting ends.

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Roll call

Welcome and introductions

10:15 a.m.

*Approval of Dec. 6, 2021, meeting minutes

*Treasurer report and approval

10:30 a.m.


-Update on the winter radio ads

*Discuss and allocate for the current year

11:30 a.m.

National and State MRPC Committee reports

-Culture and Heritage and interpretive center reports



-Environment, Recreation, and Agriculture

12:00 p.m.

Adjourn for lunch

12:30 p.m.

Chair report

1 p.m.

Comments from interpretive centers

Ex officio member and other reports

1:30 p.m.

Presentation by Anne Lewis, Pilot, National Mississippi River Parkway Commission

2:30 p.m.

Reports and updates

4 p.m.

Future meeting schedule


*Action item

Note: The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Inc., a 501(c)(4) tax-exempt fundraising organization, will meet immediately following the meeting of the Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission.

Contact:  Emily Whaley, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1629 [email protected].

Iowa DOT ensures nondiscrimination and equal employment in all programs and activities in accordance with Title VI and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and other nondiscrimination statutes. If you need more information or special assistance for persons with disabilities or limited English proficiency, contact Iowa DOT Civil Rights at 515-239-1111 or by email at [email protected].


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.