Iowa DOT News

Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission to meet Jan. 20 in Davenport

AMES, Iowa – Jan. 9, 2023 – The Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) will meet Friday, Jan. 20, at the Nahant Marsh Education Center, 4220 Wapello Avenue, in Davenport.

Interested parties may attend in-person or join the meeting by using the Zoom link: To join the meeting by conference call, dial 312-626-6799 and use Meeting ID: 960 7239 0350# and passcode: #. The link and phone line will be active shortly before the meeting and discontinued immediately after the meeting ends.


Iowa Mississippi River Parkway Commission Agenda

10 a.m.

Roll call

Welcome and introductions

10:15 a.m.

*Approval of Oct. 17,2022 and Nov. 4, 2022, meeting minutes

*Treasurer report and approval

10:30 a.m.


*Discuss and approve expenditures

*Discuss budget and approval of items

-National Scenic Byways Foundation

-Travel Iowa fall camping ad

-Radio ads

11:30 a.m.

National Committee appointments and state MRPC Committee reports

-Marketing Committee



-Recreation and Agriculture

-Heritage and Culture


Adjourn for lunch

12:30 p.m.

Chair report

1 p.m.

Comments from interpretive centers

Ex officio member and other reports

1:30 p.m.

Linking with other states


2:30 p.m.

Reports and updates

-Zebulon Pike project

-Railroad merger

-Wolf pipeline

4 p.m.

Future meeting schedule


* Action Items

Contact:  Emily Whaley, Iowa Department of Transportation, at 515-239-1629 [email protected].

Iowa DOT ensures nondiscrimination and equal employment in all programs and activities in accordance with Title VI and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and other nondiscrimination statutes. If you need more information or special assistance for persons with disabilities or limited English proficiency, contact the Civil Rights Bureau by email at [email protected].


The MRPC is a multistate organization that works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River; to foster the economic growth of the corridor; and to develop the national, scenic, and historic parkway known as the Great River Road.

As part of the MRPC, the Iowa MRPC focuses on the same mission objectives in relation to Iowa's portions of the National Scenic Byway, the Iowa Great River Road, and the Mississippi River Valley. The governor appoints members to the Iowa MRPC from each of the 10 counties that border the Mississippi River. These include Allamakee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines, and Lee counties. The Iowa MRPC also includes ex officio members from the Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, and Iowa Economic Development Authority’s Iowa Tourism Office.


©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.